/Homebuilt Aircraft
  /Aircraft Power Plants
   /Rotax Aircraft Engines
Rotax Aircraft Engine

Rotax Aircraft Engines

Rotax four stroke aircraft engines have proven themselves as reliable pieces of machinery. They can be bought as experimental (UL) or certified (A and F) engine and there are four main models (injected too) to date. The original engine is the 80 hp 912, from which the 100 hp 912S was developed and Rotax also has a 115 hp turbocharged 914 engine. In 2015 Rotax announced the 135 hp fuel injected turbocharged 915iS.

Rotax is standardizing the ignition units for the 912 and 914 engine series. It is for information purposes only.

Bombardier Rotax Service Instruction

SI-912-013-914-016, Standardization of the Ignition Units

Excerpt from the document:

Due to our commitment to ongoing further development, we are now standardizing the ignition unit. This also includes modified wire routing, wire quality, wire lengths, fasteners and plug connections.

Standardization of the ignition unit for ROTAX® engine type 912 and 914 (Series). Compliance NONE - For Information Only. NOTE: The standardized ignition unit is used in standard production starting from the engine numbers described in section 1.1.

To continue reading see the pdf below:

written by EAI.


We like to invite you to become our site sponsor.
With your help this website can keep on growing as a source of information for all aviation enthusiasts!

Become our Patron